Goals

Goals

P1150198.JPG

Being a teacher and student for so long, I prefer my day planners to match the academic year, not the calendar year. Because of this, my “year” begins in August. Happy New Year!

The last several years, I have gotten Bloom Daily planners from Amazon. I have never read the from-the-developers page until this year, but once I did, I realized it completely lines up with my new “bloom where you are planted” philosophy. In the front of these planners there has always been a page to write goals for the year. This year, they included categories for the kinds of goals you might make. I felt this would be beneficial for me, so I did it.

Now we all know that if you make goals and then keep them to yourself, it’s so much easier to forget about them than if you share them and have others keeping you accountable. For that reason, I would like to share my goals for the year with you.

Daily devotions.  I have never been very good about this, but I think this is the year for that to change.

More cooking. By that I mean get more creative with my cooking. Try new recipes. Conquer bread products. Those are hard, ya know?

Sewing and blog. That’s a big one. I want to keep challenging myself to try new things. I want to sew more often than I really do. I want this blog to succeed. I want it to become something fun and informative. Maybe even get some business.

Pilates 3 times a week. It’s more than just getting my pre-baby body back. I have scoliosis, or an overly curved spine. Pilates helps keep it under control. I know I should be doing it, but I’m lazy, so it goes on the goals list.

Read 100 books. Ok, so this might be a little lofty of a goal. But I love reading and I’ve always wondered how many books I read in a year. This is a good way to know.

Get conversational in Italian. Part of the difficulty in going places is the communication barrier. I understand Italian pretty well, but responding is not so good. I want to study, practice, and get to a place where I can form a coherent sentence.

Make mommy friends. I am one of those unique personality types called an ambivert. I am pretty introverted until I know someone, but then I’m an extrovert. I’m not the person who calls to set up a coffee date with a friend, but I’ll jump at the opportunity if someone calls me. I feel like that is something that needs to change, and I need to become more outgoing and proactive about my social life.

Have Noah adventure time. Simply put, we don’t go anywhere. In this house, I have let naps and eating times rule. My husband brought this up the other day and suggested that once a week, Noah and I go out on an adventure. It doesn’t have to be complicated, like going downtown or to a tourist attraction, but it could be taking a picnic to the park and playing on the swings.

What are some of your goals for the year?

2 thoughts on “Goals

  1. very lofty goals indeed Rosebud! er so that you don’t get discouraged…do you think it would help if you prioritized them… ? That way even if you only accomplish a few at the top of the list, that you would feel happier than looking at the whole list and not being able to do it all ? A technique I learned in a time management class once was do A, B. and C priorities.. the A’s need to get done, the B’s could be next and somehow it’s ok if the C’s get put by the wayside . hmmmm not to gloat.. but retirement is wonderful ZERO GOALS HA HA HA HA

    Like

Leave a Reply

