Favorites

Hummus

The first time I made hummus (and maybe even tasted it!) was when we lived in Bahrain. How did I get that far in life without having it? I have no idea.

It is now a great favorite in my house. Last time I made it, Tim said, “This is great, you have made hummus 3 times in the last two weeks!” Usually I just keep it simple and stick to the recipe, but I have also put in roasted red peppers or avocado to make it different. There are a lot of variations that I haven’t tried, but I want to try making it with white beans. You could probably put just about anything in it and it would be awesome.

hummus.jpg

Here is the recipe I use. I got it from the Brown Eyed Baker blog. Last time I made it, Tim licked the bowl after it was gone. I often make it for wraps- hummus, chicken lunch meat, fresh veggies. It’s a great summer meal!

P1000086.JPG

Sorry, hummus is not the most photogenic food around.

Hummus

3 TBS lemon juice

1/4 C water

6 Tbs tahini (sesame seed paste)

2 Tbs olive oil

1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained and rinsed

2 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped into two or three pieces

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/4 tsp cumin

  1. Combine water and lemon. In a separate bowl, whisk together olive oil and tahini.
  2. Process chickpeas, garlic, cumin, and salt in a food processor until almost fully ground.
  3. Add lemon juice and water, process 1 minute.
  4. Add tahini and oil, process one minute until smooth.
  5. Cover with plastic wrap and let it sit for at least 30 minutes before serving.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

