Books

August books

P1150321

One of my goals this year is to read 100 books. I only ended up reading 3 books this month, with 2 in progress. If I want to reach my goal, I’ll have to read about 8 per month. I think I need to step up my game!

Here are the books I did read:

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen -This is one of my all-time favorite books. Her writing is so witty and her humor is so dry. I love the movies, but the book is just so rich. The characters are so well-developed and the progression from dislike to love is described so clearly. I watched the P&P with Kiera Knightly after finishing the book, and I realized that while the scenery and music are so beautiful, it is more of a modern interpretation of the story. But if you like modern interpretations of things, I mentioned the Lizzie Bennet Diaries last week. Hilarious!
  2. When in Doubt, Add Butter by Beth Harbinson- I really enjoyed this book. The writing was engaging and the characters were relatable and believable. Gemma is a private chef who has her own business and is finally feeling secure with her life. Then a chance meeting one evening causes her to face her past and make decisions about trust and love. This book was well-written and a quick read.
  3. A Walk in the Park by Jill Mansell- I found this author when I was looking for something similar to Katie Fforde, a British author whose books are frustratingly not available at our library or at online libraries. Jill Mansell, however, is! This book was about Lara, her daughter Gigi, and her friend Evie, and it takes place in Bath. Lara returns home because of the death of her father, after running away 18 years before. At every turn, she is faced with her past and the mysteries surrounding her mother’s life. Lara, Gigi, and Evie all discover love and the freedom of letting go of the past. I enjoyed this book as well. It is engaging and funny, and the characters are clever and well-developed.

In progress- The Jane Austen Book Club and The Gospel of Ruth

I know I didn’t read very many books this month, but the ones I did read were winners!

Leave a Reply

