DIY

DIY tied fleece blanket

img_1369

You know what makes a great Christmas present? Warm things. My husband understands this, and in past years I have gotten a Slanket (like a Snuggie but better and less stupid sounding), an electric blanket, and slippers. All excellent presents.

I made a fleece tied blanket years ago for my nephew and one last year for my brother-in-law. And both times, I was so surprised at how quickly it goes!

So. I highly recommend it. Homemade, practical, and highly customizable. What do I mean by that? Well, you can get whatever patterns and colors tickle your fancy. There are tons of options! Of the two I made, one was jungle animals and one was Oakland Raiders. You could also do pink princess crowns or US Navy or camouflage.

All you need for this project is two pieces of fleece that are the same size, scissors, a yard stick, a ruler, fingers, and some time.

The size of the fleece depends on what size you want the finished product to be. Unfortunately, I never wrote my measurements down, so I’m relying on memory here. I believe the child size one was a 1 to 1.5 yards and the adult one was 2 yards. It will end up about 8 inches shorter on each side, so take that into account.

  1. Lay out the two pieces of fleece on top of each other, right sides facing out. Depending on how well they were cut in the store, you may have to square them off.
  2. In each corner, measure and cut out a six-inch square. Note, be careful on the final corner, you only have to measure 6 inches on one side! Voice of experience here.
  3. Line up the yard stick parallel and 6 inches from one edge, cut slits every inch all the way up to the yard stick. Repeat on all sides.
  4. Once that’s done, put in a movie or turn on an audiobook or something because this part is boring! Each one of those slits needs to be tied. Double knot the front to the back.
  5. You’re done!

I didn’t take any pictures while I was making either of them, but here is a diagram. Sorry not sorry for the fabulously crappy job. Don’t we all love paint? By the way, have you ever seen the blog Illustrated With Crappy Pictures? Hilarious!

tied-blanket-diagram

Anyway, I digress. Man, I’m proud of my art skills. Those corner squares are the ones you cut out, the lines are the slits for the ties. Make sense? I hope so!

Now go make some Christmas presents!

 

Leave a Reply

