Baby · Favorites

Broken nine-patch

P1030748

I have pinned several examples of a quilt pattern called a broken nine-patch. A few years ago, a friend was having a baby, so I decided to try it out. I used material left over from another quilt, so this one is flannel. I used the dark material for the center square that gets cut apart.

What do I mean by that? Well, here are the instructions, plus some pictures of the some examples I’ve pinned.

First, make a regular nine-patch square (3×3). Then with a rotary cutter, cut straight down the center and across the middle, so the block is divided into four squares.

9 patch.png

Now here is where you can decide what you want to do, what pattern you want to make. Take the individual squares and spin them in whichever direction and however much you want. You can even change the order of the blocks. Just make sure to keep the “sets” of four together. For this quilt, I think I left the two pink blocks where they were, and switched the two green blocks. Make sense? I think it really makes a difference what colors you use. Mine looked like an interesting and complicated patchwork, but this one looks like the colored squares are floating because they used white. Also super cool.

9-patch1

Once you arrange it, sew it all back together and finish the quilt off with a back and tacking of your choice. This one I tied with yarn. When I made this one a few years ago, I hadn’t started quilting yet. But given the choice, I think I would tie this quilt anyway. I think it goes nicely with the patchwork.

You can also do this pattern with a 4-patch, making more cuts or cutting diagonally. It’s such a versatile pattern!

Leave a Reply

