Baby · DIY · Working on now

Sheet savers

Happy late Thanksgiving! We spent all last week in Malta, and I totally spaced the Friday’s pieces until late that afternoon. But don’t worry, I’m back! I hope you all had a great holiday and didn’t get trampled on Black Friday.

p1160758

Anyway, here is a new thing I made!

My nieces’ birthday is coming up, and I was asked if I could make some crib rail covers for the twin who got the pre-chewed crib (thanks to her brother). The other twin doesn’t chew, but she drools.

It made me think of these wonderful things called sheet savers that somebody gave me before I had Noah. They are a strip of fabric that gets tied to the rails of the crib. If it gets dirty, you can change that and you don’t have to change the sheets. When Noah was tiny, sometimes he would spit up like an hour after he finished eating. But it was on the sheet saver and not the sheets! Hooray! Less laundry!

So when my sister-in-law asked if I could make some, I said yes! I spent some time thinking about what would make it absorbent. I knew I would do the top out of flannel, but even with batting, I didn’t think that double-sided flannel would do the trick. Hmm, what is absorbent? Oh, I know, towels! Flannel on the top, a towel on the back. It turns out that a regular hand towel is the perfect size. I got Ikea towels, so of course they were larger and had to be cut.

p1160753

  1. If you are using a regular hand towel, cut the flannel to the same size. If you are using a larger towel, you want to cut it to 27 1/2″ by 14″. I rounded the corners, but you don’t have to. You’ll need 8 ties, cut strips of cotton 1 1/2″ by 7″.
  2. Start by sewing the ties. Iron each strip in half, then open and iron the raw edges toward the inside. Pin. Fold over and iron one end just a little, this is the end that will stick out and be tied to the crib. Sew up the side, making sure to keep the end folded.
    p1160755
  3. Then lay out the towel, right side up. In each corner, pin two ties facing the center and sticking out the corner just a little. Then put the flannel on top, right side facing the towel and ties, and pin all around, leaving an open space on one side for turning. Sew.
    p1160756
  4. Take out the pins, turn it right side out, and sew again around the outside, making sure to tuck in the raw edges of the opening. I ironed it lightly before doing this, which helped keep things from sliding and bubbling too much.
  5. Remember how I talked about using masking tape to quilt in straight lines last week? Holy cow, whoever came up with that is a genius! Anyway, you need to do a little quilting in the middle to keep it all together. You can do whatever pattern you like, but I did diagonal lines 5″ apart, starting in the middle.
    p1160757

And you’re done! What a cute way to do less laundry. Seriously, win-win.

Leave a Reply

