DIY · Pinning

Christmas pins

I can’t believe it’s December already! This is the first Christmas we will be spending at home in 3 years. Sadly, it will also be the first Christmas in 3 years that we didn’t spend with family. BUT we do get to spend time this holiday season with our military family. We have made such good friends here, and we have several get-togethers to look forward to.

Since we haven’t spent Christmas at home in a while, I haven’t gone all out decorating in a few years. I was so busy with school, then unpacking our house, and then a new baby, that it just seemed like too much work to pull out the decorations. Besides, why decorate if we weren’t going to be there to enjoy it? Last year I think I did the most decorating, which consisted of putting lights in the front window and our fairly smashed wreath on the pantry door. Whoop whoop!

But this year… this year will be different! Noah is old enough to enjoy Christmas. We’ll be here for the whole season. And I really want to decorate. I’m doing some Christmas present sewing (which is taking forever because… toddlers), but once that’s finished and mailed, decorating it is! I feel like I’m really out of touch with what’s popular now, so I’ve been doing some Pintresting. I found some great ideas, so I’m sharing them with you! Of course, I won’t do them all, but maybe I can inspire you, too. I added some links, but some are just pictures. If you want to find them and pin them yourself, click here to go to my holidays pinterest board.

So first, some things you can sew. The list of 30 ornaments and patterns can be found here. The advent calendar has a felt ornament in each pocket, which gets added to the tree every day.

Then if you’re like us and are too lazy to get a tree, here are some options.

Then some art…

…and wreaths.

And a garland because it’s pretty.

garland

And for kids, there are DIY window clings made from puffy paint, popsicle stick snowflakes, and making your own snow globes. And for the younger kids, 20 popsicle stick crafts, a nativity scene, and finger paint snow collages.

Then of course, what is Christmas without cookies? I’m going to try some new recipes this year, including these Italian Ricotta Cookies and these Cake Batter Christmas Cookies. And edible glitter? Seriously?

glitter

I made these gingersnaps a couple years ago and they are so good! And to go with your cookies, here is the ultimate DIY hot chocolate builder.

Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Christmas pins

Leave a Reply

