Goals · Life

A word for 2017

strength1

Have you ever had one of those times when you just know you are supposed to do something? This is one of those things for me.

At my small group bible study last week, we discussed the idea of using a word to guide your goals and actions for the year. I’ve never done it, and I’m pretty indecisive, so I kind of let it pass. I made a resolution and a few goals, after all! But then yesterday, I was listening to the Purposeful Home podcast (so inspiring, by the way!), and they were talking about how to choose a word and how powerful it is to have one. About an hour later, I received a message from a friend about a “word”. Then I was catching up on a blog I follow and the author was talking about her “word”. Ok, ok, ok!

All that happening in the course of about 4 hours really gave me pause. Maybe I AM supposed to choose a guiding word for 2017. I thought about it off and on for the rest of the evening, but didn’t really come up with anything. Then this morning, as I was lying in bed wishing I didn’t have to get up (it’s so cold!), I just asked the Lord to give me a word if he thinks it’s something I should do. The word strengthen popped into my head.

The more I thought about it, the more I liked it.

I want to strengthen my relationship with God.

I want to strengthen my marriage and my family.

           I want to strengthen my relationships with others.

I want to strengthen my body, my mind, my skills.

The first result of a quick pinterest search for a guiding quote or picture was Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” (emphasis added) How wonderful is that? Scripture is full of times when God gave strength to those who asked for it. My prayer this year will be that God gives me the strength I need to strengthen the areas of my life that need it.

Did you choose a word for 2017? If so, I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

