Friday's Pieces

Friday’s pieces 2/20

p1170063

  1. I made brownies! Happy chocolate (Valentine’s) day! Up until now, Noah has hated chocolate (are you sure he’s mine?!?), but these he loved.
  2. Saturday night, I went downtown and had dinner with a friend. I thought about taking the train, but ended up driving. It was a little crazy, but I didn’t hit anything, so that’s a win.
  3. The pizza place we went to is super popular. They open at 7, we got there around 7:15 and we still had to wait in line just to get in. By the time we left, the line was down the sidewalk in both directions and out into the street!
  4. Ever since we got back from Germany, Noah has been sleeping a ridiculous amount. At first, I was a little concerned, but then I realized that the pants that needed to be cuffed last week no longer need it. He is going through a tremendous growth spurt! Time to bust out the 3T clothes?
  5. When we moved into our house last summer, I decided to try doing a cleaning schedule where I do one big chore every day. It was okay in the sense that the house was cleanish, but I hated having the bathroom or the floors hanging menacingly over my head until I actually did it. Then I would get behind… I finally decided that it wasn’t for me. Yesterday, I cleaned the whole house in 3 hours. That’s better! I think doing a big clean once a week will be the way to go.
  6. Isn’t this shirt amazing? “Domani” means tomorrow in Italian. Let’s just say that Italians are not the most prompt at getting things done. Also, whoever came up with the “mail innovations” that combines UPS with the postal service needs to be kicked. We ordered these shirts in mid-November and got them this week.
    p1170085
  7. I’ve been planning to leave Noah with Tim for an afternoon (at least) and go do something fun for myself. But trying to come up with something that I want to do by myself is hard! What I really want to do is go to a bookstore, get a tea, and curl up with a book. Or go to a fabric store and binge buy fabric. Nope and nope. So tell me, what would you do if you had a day to yourself?
  8. These last couple weeks, I have fallen into the routine of drinking wine, eating chocolate, and watching Friends (or The Office when Netflix isn’t working) every evening after Noah goes to bed. It is so refreshing to me, kind of an eraser for the day, keeps me from burnout. I love it, but I’m also glad Tim is coming home.
  9. There are some pretty big differences between a military marriage and the average marriage. We often spend holidays alone and then celebrate them late (or early). For example, our third wedding anniversary was the first one we spent together. So call me judgey, but it makes me roll my eyes when people take to Facebook to complain that their husbands are gone FOR TWO WHOLE DAYS, HOW WILL I SURVIVE?! I love my husband, really I do, but I also kind of enjoy my wine-and-Friends evenings. I’m just glad it’s only 3 weeks and not 9 months.
  10. Tomorrow will be our belated Valentine’s dinner (see above). Happy weekend!
One thought on “Friday’s pieces 2/20

Leave a Reply

