Friday's Pieces

Friday’s pieces 3/03

carnevale

  1. Tuesday was Carnevale, the Italian (family-friendly) Mardi Gras. Kids dress up in costumes and throw bags and bags of confetti and paper streamers at each other.
  2. How did March sneak up me so fast? I swear, February gets me every year.
  3. I planned to have my whole-house cleaning day being Monday, but this week, we went to the park instead. So Tuesday morning I did everything. On Wednesday, I realized (with pleasure) that except for some maintenance, I had nothing to do for the next few days. Such a nice feeling!
  4. I made these fruit and veggie smoothie muffins the other day and they are super good! And healthy! And Noah loves them! Win-win-win.
  5. On Wednesday, when I went to get the laundry out of the washing machine, there was a large puddle on the floor. Uh oh! Several phone calls later, I had scheduled a technician to look at the washer and plumber to look at the plumbing. Both have looked at it, both said it is fine. I started another load of laundry (because it’s never-ending, amiright?) and another puddle, smaller, but still…
  6. I finished my Italian book on Saturday. I finished it! I’ve never done that before. Now to go back and finish the other three books that are sitting around half-done.
  7. The other day I discovered an awesome thing. You know those subscription box things that are popular now? Well, there’s one for fabric! Every month (or bi-monthly), you get a box of 10 coordinating fabrics in either 1/4 yard or 1/2 yard increments. I hate ordering fabric online because the colors always come out weird, so this would be amazing! It’s more than I would spend on myself, but I would not reject it as a gift, ya know? It went on the permanent gift idea list on the fridge.
  8. Last night we were scrolling through Netflix and Tim said, “A Little Princess, what’s that?” I know he’s a boy and all, but seriously? It’s a classic! To have never even HEARD of it, I feel like somebody failed him somewhere. Also, the story she likes to tell in the movie is the story of Ramayana, which we saw in ballet form in Indonesia. Cool!
  9. I was starting to be a little concerned that my kid was sleeping until 11 every morning. But this week, I started noticing that he was actually waking up at like 9 and just hanging out in bed, talking to his bear and laughing at his jokes. Is this normal?
  10. Seasons 1-6 of Parenthood came in the mail this week. If you need anything, you know where to find me.
3 thoughts on “Friday’s pieces 3/03

Leave a Reply

