Life · OMG!

London

Hi, I’m back! Last weekend, I went to London with a friend. We left our kids with our husbands and had a fantastic girls’ weekend. It was my first time leaving Noah overnight, and I didn’t feel as bad about it as I thought I would. It was such a relaxing, refreshing weekend for both me and my friend.

We flew into London Friday afternoon, and then went downtown to have Thai food for dinner and see Jersey Boys at the Piccadilly Theatre. It was a really fun show, with lots of popular songs. You know the song Heath Ledger’s character sings while running across the bleachers in 10 Things I Hate About You? That’s in there and it was really fun to hear the whole theatre singing “Can’t Take My Eyes Off You”.

Saturday morning, we went to a church in Pinner on the outskirts of London for a Mums Heart UK conference with the author Sally Clarkson. She has written several books and has a ministry focused on moms. It was such an encouraging thing to listen to her speak. She is a super nice lady and we got to get our picture taken with her.

Sally

After the conference, my friend and I decided to just go downtown and find something to do. We couldn’t find any shows with tickets for that evening, so we decided to go see a movie after dinner. We went to the same Thai place as Friday. (I love Italian food, but I like variety, too!) As we were walking toward the tube station, we came across a theatre with a bunch of people in military uniforms outside. While we were standing there, reading the sign, a lady came up to us and offered to sell us her tickets for the show (she had gotten VIP tickets because her brother was in it!). It was the 100th birthday celebration for Dame Vera Lynn, Britain’s “sweetheart”. She is a famous singer, especially popular with the troops during World War II. The show had a large number of England’s best singers and dancers performing Vera Lynn’s songs.

P1170108

The theatre was beautiful inside, and our seats ended up being in the third row. A minute or two before it began, everyone started clapping and standing up. We looked up and there was Queen Elizabeth II! Her box was at the end of our row (like six seats away!) and one level up.

Queen

Crazy, huh? That picture isn’t zoomed, either.

On Sunday, we went to church and then took a walk in Hyde Park. The daffodils were blooming, which really made it feel like spring. After a lunch of Indian food (I’m telling you, we couldn’t get enough!), we went to the cinema to see LaLa Land. I must say, it wasn’t as good as I had expected it to be. Still fun, though, because I never get to go to the movies.

P1170124

All in all, it was a pretty fantastic weekend. I came home rested (even though we were out late every night!) and ready to take on a toddler. I guess the moral of this story is moms, sometimes it’s important to have time away from your kids so you can serve them better. I am now a firm believer in self-care!

5 thoughts on “London

Leave a Reply

