Books

March books

books1
via

I learned a couple valuable lessons this month:

1) Don’t always trust the reviews on Goodreads. People didn’t like the Emma retelling, but I thought it was great! They complained about silly things that I didn’t even notice. I was all nervous that I would hate the book, but then I loved it.

and

2) Don’t be afraid to try new genres of books. I don’t like scary/blood-and-gore, so I stayed away from all mysteries (except some Agatha Christie). This month, I finally tried a cozy mystery and loved it! I’m glad, too, because our library has a lot of them.

Emma: A Modern Retelling by Alexander McCall Smith. Ok ok, I know he’s a super popular author, but I’ve never read anything by him before. Crazy, huh? Anyway, you all should know my weakness for Jane Austen by now. And modern retellings of classics are fun. This one did not disappoint. I would definitely recommend it if you’re like me and love a good chick lit read.

The Promise Kitchen by Peggy Lampman. I get to borrow a book on my kindle every month through Amazon, and this is the one I chose. I totally checked it out because I liked the cover. I read the whole thing, and I tried to like it, but I don’t think I ever quite got there. The story took place in and around Atlanta, Georgia. Shelby was kind of a redneck, but moved to Atlanta to try to become a chef and make a better life for herself and her daughter. Mallory was the writer of a popular food blog. An accident occurred and their paths crossed. In the end, they helped each other fight their demons and move on with life. It was an okay book, but I wouldn’t recommend it. There were some strange lesbian themes that kind of weirded me out.

Cinnamon Toasted by Gail Oust. This was my first cozy mystery! And I loved it! Piper Prescott owns a spice store in a small Georgia town. When Piper and her ex-mother-in-law, Melly, find a dead man in Melly’s basement, Piper sets out to prove that Melly didn’t kill him. It was a really fun story, and I didn’t guess who did it or the motive.

I also started reading a book called My Fake Wedding that I got at a thrift store for 50 cents. I got to chapter three and decided it’s going right back to the thrift store. It was full of British slang and innuendo, which made it hard to read. I didn’t like any of the characters,  and I just hated it. I’m just glad I didn’t keep it sitting on my bookshelf for years before realized it was so terrible. I’d be more upset about all the time I spent dusting it than the 50 cents I spent on it in the first place! Now I have a hole in my bookshelf, but don’t worry, my mom sent me a Maeve Binchy book last week.

Ok, enough stalling… on with deep cleaning the kitchen! (Ugh)

Leave a Reply

