Clothes

The Pirate Pencil Skirt

What’s more fun that sewing? Sewing with your friends! And eating treats and drinking wine while doing it.

P4Pskirt

On Friday evening, I got together with some friends and we all made the Pirate Pencil Skirt from Patterns for Pirates. The pattern is PDF and you can buy it here and print it however many times you want. Or if you join their Facebook page, there is a code to get this pattern (and one for leggings, if you’re into that) for free!

P1170164

This skirt is knit and was super easy to make, only four seams! And they ended up looking fabulous on each and every one of us. The only thing from stopping me from making a gazillion of these is that I don’t have any knit fabric. Or ink for my printer. And there’s a large quilt on my floor (though that didn’t stop me from deciding to make an Easter dress).

P1170161

Patterns for Pirates offers a bunch of patterns for knits. A lot of them look similar to the LulaRoe clothes, but obviously better quality. And infinitely customizable. How cool would it be to be able to make your own clothes?

I am dangerously close to falling down this hole. I am not afraid. Who wants to join me?

4 thoughts on “The Pirate Pencil Skirt

  1. Haha, I am close to falling down the hole of making all of baby Elizabeth’s clothes!! I am always seeing fun fabric and great sales – and a lot of patterns can be found for free on YouTube, which makes it all the more tempting. I’m going to be making a pillowcase style dress for her soon. 😀
    I would love to be part of a sewing club where friends get together like you did to sew the same project – how fun! And the skirt looks great on you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The pillowcase dresses are so cute! The sister site to the Pirates one is called Made for Mermaids and they have lots of little girl clothes. The patterns aren’t all free, but they aren’t expensive.
      I think the only thing holding me back right now is that I can’t find affordable fabric. I need a Joann’s and a 40% off coupon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

