Friday's Pieces

Friday’s pieces 05/05

18280329_10154645724793099_1079090301_n

  1. That’s my kid wearing a size 3T shirt. Which was a dress on him two weeks ago. He’ll be two this summer.
  2. We got home on Monday and this week has been a flurry of trying to catch up! Laundry and grocery shopping and it’s my deep cleaning week. You might say “Oh, just put it off for another week” but nope, the house needed it… badly. I’ll get back to a normal schedule next week.
  3. I’ve been thinking about priorities, mostly because I was wishing I had more time to sew. While finishing this quilt and making some clothes is important, keeping my house clean, making sure we have clean clothes, and cooking healthy meals is an even bigger priority. Some days (and weeks, let’s be honest here) sewing just doesn’t happen. It makes me a little sad, but that’s just the way it is. (I wrote this on Thursday, early afternoon, then decided heck with the chores and sewed for two hours. It put me in an infinitely better mood.)
  4. To get everything done that needs to be done, I wrote a list on pretty note paper. Because that will help motivated me to do mundane tasks, right? Wrong, because I ran out of room, so now there are items written every which way and now my list is scaring me. I seem to add more to it without crossing anything off.
  5. It seems like every time we go on vacation, Noah makes some serious mental or physical leap. This time he did both. I’m pretty sure he grew at least half an inch in the time we were gone. 2T shirts were okay last week, but this week they’re belly shirts! Before we left, he would say “Mama” “Dada” and “Me up”, but nothing else. In Israel, he started saying “Those are grapes”, “Thank you”, and naming a bunch of food and animals!
  6. He also stopped fighting diaper changes. In fact, when I told him it was time to change his diaper, he went over and lay down on the changing pad! Hashtag gamechanger.

    18197626_10154634116978099_311947940_n

  7. I found these things at the grocery store called “comfort pets”. They are little gel packs in the shape of a dog or a cat. Put it in the freezer and then use it for an ice pack for owwies. Somebody was thinking!
  8. I had originally written a “May the Fourth” joke in here, mostly because I have no idea what day it is. Then I looked at the calendar. Oh. Never mind. Happy Cinco de Mayo?
  9. Noah and I have haircuts this afternoon. Why do I always wait until it becomes an emergency to schedule a hair appointment?
  10. Happy Friday! Have a good weekend!
6 thoughts on “Friday’s pieces 05/05

    1. I’ve discovered that the mood lifter that is sewing is actually essential to getting through the day in one piece. And yesterday I met a neighbor who loves to read and sew! And she knows where there is a good fabric store. So fun!

      Like

  1. Some days the list has to be set aside in order to take care of yourself. A few hours to sew, a walk, a bath, early to bed.
    And I’m there with you on the giant leaps of these kids! 2 months ago, he would say “buh dadda” now he says “Mom! Dad go work. Go door. Go buh bye. Take wa-ter.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

