Life

Memorial Day weekend staycation

Hi everyone! I skipped Monday and it feels like forever since I’ve talked to you. I hope you all had a great weekend. If you’re in America (or are American), I hope you had a nice long weekend.

In America, the last Monday in May is set aside to pay tribute to those who have given their lives so that we can live in freedom. I admit, I never really thought much about it until the last few years. I guess being a military wife really gets you thinking, ya know? I’ll still enjoy the 3-day weekend (or 4 that my husband gets) with bbqs and pool parties, but I hope I never forget the price those men and women paid for my freedom.

Since my husband got a 4-day weekend, we thought about going somewhere. We planned a trip a bit farther south. We planned a trip a little bit north. We wrote down some ideas of what to do if we stayed home. But with a grumpy toddler and a couple bad nights of sleep and we decided to stay home. Besides, we’re planning a vacation extravaganza to Scotland in July.

Friday morning was spent deciding not to go on a weekend trip. Man, we’re decisive. Tim spent the majority of the day reading his book in Italian. He got to the final 3 pages. I’m super impressed, I mean, he read a book in a foreign language! He took a couple breaks for a game of Hop on Pop. At nap time, we got out our favorite nerd game, Where in the World? It’s a geography game that I played as a kid. Just naming the countries is way to easy, so to make it more difficult, we play with all continents, and you have to name the capital and the flag colors. We actually did pretty well, this is from our first pass through the pile.

 

Clearly we dislike Africa. It helps that we have traveled a bunch. Also, if you’re ever looking for an awesome gift for us, the updated version would be great. We’re playing the one from 1992. It still has Yugoslavia and Zaire and all the -stan flags still have hammers and sickles on them. By the way, I won! We decided to go out to dinner that evening, so we went up the hill to our neighborhood restaurant. We overestimated how hungry we were, as always. But it was delicious! That’s just the appetizer plate.

On Saturday, we went to the hardware store to get sticks for Noah’s tepee and a hose/sprinkler (to replace the mosquito-attracting pool). It turned out to be way more difficult than we expected to hook up the stupid hose, but it’s finally done. It’s a hit!

P1170706

We were also searching for a non-plastic outdoor table, but came up empty. In the afternoon, I cut out a tank dress with the intent of finishing it in time for church. Yeah, that didn’t happen. I made gnocchi with walnut pesto and fried stuffed zucchini flowers for dinner.

P1170696

Then we went to have wine and cookies and watch the sunset with our upstairs neighbors. Their view is way better than ours.

photo 3

On Sunday, we went to lunch after church. I had a pistachio pesto pasta. It was pretty much amazing.

photo 4

Then I finished my dress in time for a pool party at a friend’s house. Noah loves his sprinkler, but the pool will always be his favorite.

Monday was rather unremarkable. I cleaned the house, wrote a menu and grocery list, and ironed the fabric for Noah’s tepee. You know, exciting stuff like that.

How was your weekend?

7 thoughts on “Memorial Day weekend staycation

  1. Pretty nice staycation. 🙂 And yummy gnocchi and stuffed zucchini flowers!!!! 😮
    Good memorial day tribute. I hear ya … this one is tough to “celebrate”…
    OOH, where are you going in Scotland? We honeymooned there, going from Edinburgh to Dalhousie to Aberdeen to Inverness to Skye to Stirling and back to Edinburgh, staying in castles or manor houses along the way. I LOVED IT! My best recommendation is hiking the Quirang trail on the Isle of Skye. It’s remote but just such a place – so peaceful, so awe-inspiring, so steep in places, lol. I felt like I was in that scene from the 2005 Pride & Prejudice where Lizzie (Kira Kneightly) is standing on a cliff in Darbyshire.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was looking at stuff to do in northern England, and I saw the Peak District. I thought of Lizzie standing on the cliff! We haven’t decided how long we’re going for, but we’re hoping to do the North Coast 500, the loop all around the top. We’ll definitely take that recommendation for Skye, we love hiking.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would love to visit there at some point! I’ve only been to London, but at some point I want to get out into the countryside – it looks just perfect. My best friend lives in London, so there’s hope. 🙂 If you want any further recommendations or have any questions, just ask! We had so much fun and highly recommend (and not recommend) quite a few things. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, we’re definitely going, we just aren’t sure for how long (9 days or 15 days). And the length of the trip will determine where we go. I’m hoping for the long one!

        Like

Leave a Reply

