Books

May books

I tell you, it’s hard to read with a toddler. My mom was asking me if I had read a certain book, and I said no, I have been pretty slow about reading books. Then this conversation ensued.

IMG_0613

Real life, ya’ll. I read 3 books this month. I doesn’t help that I am not going to the library until the shrieking in quiet places calms down. My (super-unrealistic) goal was to read 100 books this year. I’ll be lucky if I get past 40 (I’m reading #37 right now). I’m thinking I should, because we are going on a long vacation in July and I read a lot on vacation.

But enough of that, let’s get down to talking about what I DID read this month.

War Brides by Helen Bryan. I have had this on my kindle for at least a year, and I finally started reading it when we were in Israel. In fact, one of the characters had siblings escaping the Holocaust in Austria on the Kindertransport, a train just for children. I had never heard of it before, but then later that day at the Yad Vishem Holocaust museum, I saw a display about it. Anyway, it’s about these five women in a small town on the southern coast of England. They have all come from different backgrounds, and sometimes don’t get along with each other. They balance war work, secrets (both personal and related to the war), and marriage, and provide the support and courage the others need. The book ends with their reunion at the 50th anniversary of the end of the war, where they solve a mystery and take matters into their own hands. I really loved this book, but I thought that the ending was a little odd. If you like WWII fiction, you should definitely read this book.

Shopaholic Ties the Knot by Sophie Kinsella. After two rather heavy books in a row (The Forgotten Seamstress and War Brides), I needed a light read. Becky Bloomwood to the rescue! If you’ve never read the Shopaholic books, you should. They’re way better than the movie. Becky has gotten engaged, and through a misunderstanding, is planning a wedding in New York and one in England on the same day! Not wanting to hurt feelings, she goes along with it for a while, but when she finally decides which wedding she wants, it’s too late. In the end, some quick thinking and great friends help her to have the wedding of her dreams.

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith. I told you my mom sent me a box of books, right? Her library has surprisingly good book sales for being in a small town. This last box contained the first six books of this series. They are at my library here, but I’m glad to own them because I feel that I will be reading these over and over.  They take place in the African country of Botswana. Mma Romatswe used the inheritance from her father to set up her No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency in Gaberone. She is a very practical person, who listens, observes, and asks questions before realizing that the solution to the mystery is right in front of her. The author has made her character to be so realistic and likable that this book was a joy to read.

One thought on “May books

Leave a Reply

