Friday's Pieces

Friday’s pieces 06/16

silly (2)

  1. Last weekend, we went to a friend’s house for dinner. Noah was wandering around on the balcony and found the water table. Next thing we know, he’s sitting in it, completely soaked. And having a ball. The other two kids were like, “Um, I don’t think you’re supposed to be in there? But ok…”
  2. I did another canvas, with the Anne Shirley quote “Tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet.” I love it, and it’s so true! Noah painted the background with watercolors and it came out really cool. I like the green/orange blob under the “To”, it reminds me of a parrot.

    Anne quote

  3. Once we get the right size screwdriver, I’m going to be doing surgery on our camera. (YouTube to the rescue again!) There is dust in the lens and I don’t want black blobs on all our Scotland pictures. If this doesn’t work, we’ll have to get a new camera. Cross your fingers for me!
  4. Speaking of Scotland, it’s almost all booked! And we’re not sleeping in the car ever. It was a little touch-and-go there for a bit. You guys, I’m so excited. I loved Scotland when I went a few years ago, and this time we’re going all the way up to the North Coast. It’s beautiful and wild and empty up there.
  5. I tried making one of those sensory bottles with the gel in it. Our water has been having issues and somehow it’s super cloudy and the things in the bottle won’t float gracefully down. I’ll count this one as a Pinterest fail.
  6. For our anniversary on Wednesday, Tim took me to the nursery down the street and I got to choose a plant for me and one for Noah. I got a really cool one with hot pink and green leaves and purple flowers. We got a petunia for Noah. (It’s hard to kill those, right?) I was thinking about where to plant it, and I decided to plant it along the wall in our side yard. Now I want to get more to fill in the mossy dead grass and make it beautiful. Also, there are few flowers that are more cheerful than petunias.
  7. I have had a bad headache since Monday. I have no idea what’s causing it, but it’s sure no fun. Advil is no match for this headache. Sad face.
  8. Noah has been sleeping a lot/not wanting to nap and eating strange amounts of food (like a lot or none at all). It changes from day to day and I never have any idea what’s going on. I’m definitely looking forward to him being able to tell me what he wants or needs.
  9. This purple block is the Rosetta Star, and my first experience with true paper piecing. I told you last week about how badly it went. But I figured it out and here it is! Then this week, I did this dark blue Celestial Star, which was lots of paper piecing. I’m glad I did the easier one to start with, I probably would have quit if I had done this one first! Now it’s easy and I am stunned at how gorgeous it comes out.
  10. I hope you have a great weekend!
3 thoughts on “Friday’s pieces 06/16

  1. I’m sorry about your headache!! Hope it’s gone by now…..
    … But happy anniversary! To many more…. 🙂
    Yay about the trip!! What type of places are your lodging? B&B type places or bigger manor houses? Or hotels?
    Pretty canvas! Good job to both of you.

    Like

    1. Nope, I’m afraid this headache is here to stay. Blah.
      We are staying about half the time in B&Bs and the other half in Air B&B apartments. In most places you can get a whole apartment for the same price as a room in a B&B! And you can do laundry, have a refrigerator, and put the baby in another room to sleep. Everyone gets better sleep that way.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

