Books

June books

dr seuss quotes about books - Google Search                                                                                                                                                      More

via

Strange realization for the day: I discovered that a large majority of book memes on Pinterest have to do with Harry Potter. Don’t hate me, but I didn’t like Harry Potter.

The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. I have read this book several times, and it’s a favorite, but I haven’t read it in several years. I picked it up because I loved it so much, and it definitely resonated with me in a different way, now that I’m a full-blown adult. Valency Stirling was a dowdy, mousy, 30-year-old old maid and the laughing stock of her extended family. She had always had an imaginary house called the Blue Castle where she could escape the drudgery of daily life. But some terrible news launched her into action, causing her to act for herself and find her own happiness. You guys, I loved this book. Do yourself a favor and read it.

The Weekenders by Mary Kay Andrews. Riley Griggs’ family ran the company behind the holiday island called Belle Isle in North Carolina. The people who lived there were a mix of locals and “weekenders”. Riley’s husband, Wendell, doesn’t show up for the ferry when he was supposed to, only to be found dead the next day. Riley needed to find out the circumstances behind his death, and becomes more and more curious as the extent of Wendell’s business deals was discovered. I’ve liked some of Mary Kay Andrews’ other books, but not really this one. The only character that I liked was the best friend- everyone else was spoiled, obnoxious, and whiny. I didn’t solve the mystery, so that was a surprise.

A Women’s Place by Lynn Austin. This is a re-read, but I read it so long ago that I didn’t remember anything about it. Lynn Austin is one of my favorite authors because she is able to weave several stories into one, and she is just plain a skilled writer. Her books are long enough that you become completely entangled with the characters’ lives. And a book that makes me cry multiple times is a win in my opinion. The story takes place during WWII, starting with the attack on Pearl Harbor. Four women, Virginia, Helen, Rosa, and Jean all begin working at a shipyard, building ships for the war effort. They all came from different backgrounds and have their own “battles” to fight, finding that they can rely on each other for strength. I really loved reading this books as it described the shift from women’s roles as housewives to having a vital part of society and the workforce.

What have you been reading?

7 thoughts on “June books

  1. Oooh, I love Lynn Austin!! And I really enjoyed A Woman’s Place. My favorite, I think though, was A Proper Pursuit. ^_^
    Thanks for the recommendation, I’ll have to check out The Blue Castle!
    I haven’t been reading at all. 😦 Need to get back to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, A Proper Pursuit is also a great book! Heck, all her books are wonderful (though I didn’t get into the Old Testament series).
      L.M. Montgomery, too. Any of her books are lovely. I read the Emily of New Moon trilogy when I was nursing Noah and I remember telling my mom that those books just feel “like a hug”.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. My friend was telling me about The Zoo Keeper’s Wife! We recently had an unfortunate screeching/echoing incident in the library, so I haven’t been there in a while. We have been having several “when you’re two” discussions, so maybe we’ll try again when we get back from our trip. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anna I just ordered The Blue Castle! An all time favorite book of mine with a similar title and one word change is called The Glass Castle! A movie version
    of this book will be coming out in September:)!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

