Life

4th of July and we’re off on another adventure!

Hi ya’ll! Happy 4th of July (on the 5th)! Did you have a nice weekend? It was a long 4-day weekend for us, though my husband had to work on Monday anyway. But today… more about that later.

We’re special here, and we celebrate the 4th of July on June 30th. Seriously, people. Maybe it was so people could go to this event AND on vacation.

Anyway, we have a park located in an extinct volcano that is for the military stationed here. For the Independence Day celebration, they have a carnival, food vendors, and concerts. Friday was free rides for all military and families, so Noah and I went. Unfortunately, Tim ended up working late and wasn’t able to make it.

There were several kiddie rides, which we went on. First was a “wave” ride, where you go in a circle, while moving up and down. Noah was not impressed at first. Look at that face!

4th 1

At the end, he decided he liked it after all, and chose that for his last ride before going home. Then there was a merry-go-round that had different cars and horses. He loved that. In fact, I had to cut him off after 10 times in a row. I was getting dizzy.

4th 3

Then a mini ferris wheel, which he was also not too sure of.

4th 2

They also had one of those mini pirate ship rides for little kids. He absolutely didn’t like that, and I didn’t really like it either. Fun fact: I hate roller coasters or things that go fast, have drops, etc. That wave ride was about my speed.

Then we had dinner (he ate two hot dogs and a bag of chips, but hated the funnel cake) and watched a concert by the band LIT. I didn’t realize they were still even a thing! I mean, they were popular when I was 16. But they’re still kicking, and it was a fun concert. They pulled a bunch of kids up on the stage to dance to their last song, which was adorable. I love it when bands do that, it’s a reminder that they are people with families, too, and not just famous people. Here’s Noah enjoying the concert. See the rim of the crater in the background?

4th 4

It was a fun evening! The actual 4th was uneventful, as we were getting ready for our trip. And today… we’re heading to Scotland for two weeks!

You guys, I’m beyond excited. We are riding a train in the mountains, driving the north coast, hanging out on the Isle of Skye, and going to a highland games. I went a few years ago with a friend, and it is astoundingly beautiful.

P1090675

Soooo… I may not be posting as frequently as I do when I’m at home, but I’ll do my best to pop in as often as I can and share some of the gorgeousness with you.

See you soon!

3 thoughts on “4th of July and we’re off on another adventure!

  1. What a great event for military families! Quite the backdrop, too. Very cool. I’d say he’s very brave for doing any of the rides at all! That’s tough at that age, I think.
    Enjoy Scotland!!!!!!! I’m so excited to see the photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I didn’t think he’d do anything but the merry go round, so I’m pretty impressed with him. He must have gotten his father’s love of adrenaline. It sure didn’t come from me!
      Oh my gosh, Scotland is amazing! We drove most of the north coast yesterday, and it was deserted and beautiful. We could stop in the middle of the road to take pictures… and we saw some hairy coos!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s neat – that’ll give them another thing to bond around. 🙂
        Hurray!! Ach, that makes me so wistful for northern Scotland. 🙂 I’m glad you’re enjoying it so much!!!! Those Highland Cows … they are such a trip! So shaggy.

        Like

Leave a Reply

