Working on now

Summer Star sampler quilt- progress

Do you remember back in May when I got really excited about the Summer Star Medallion sampler quilt? I immediately sat down and started planning. Then I realized my plan was unrealistic and planned again. After all, I had planned to do a bunch of complicated blocks in a 6-inch size. So unrealistic. And I’m doing this in order to learn and practice some skills. Working with teeny tiny pieces is not the way to do that.

The final plan is 13 12-inch blocks, and 4 6-inch. I chose the least complicated to be the smaller ones. Now I’m thinking! It is going to be a rainbow-like theme, with each block being a specific color group. The corners are the darker blocks, and the four small are color combinations of the larger blocks next to them.

P1170710

I’ve been plugging away at the blocks, but then I paused to work on quilting and then we went on vacation. By the time we got back, I was 5 blocks behind. I was really enjoying this quilt and learning a lot, so I didn’t want to just let it go. I decided to catch up! I cut all the paper piecing templates that I needed, then batch cut three blocks. I would have done all five, but one required a little extra planning and the other needed a fabric washed.

Once I got them all cut out, it was actually pretty easy and quick to get them sewn up. Here’s what I accomplished last week.

P1190165

The black and white compass star, which is going to be in the center.

P1190164

The dark green Turning Star. I couldn’t get the inside to line up properly. Don’t look too closely.

P1190166

And the orange Midland Star. This may be my favorite from last week. That flower in the middle! My only regret is that I didn’t cut it on an angle so the points were the blue background and not the flowers printed next to it.

This week, I’ve got four blocks on the list, but we all know that isn’t going to happen. I haven’t even started cutting yet! Also, it’s supposed to be well into the 90’s all week and it’s my deep cleaning week. Let me tell you, the house sure needs it. Slow and steady wins the race, right?

Here are the other blocks I have made so far: The dark blue Celestial Star, the red Alchemy, the light purple Rosetta (with some of my mom’s fabulous vintage fabric), the blueish-gray Millcreek Star, and the pink-red Tilted Star.

P1190168

Well, I guess it’s time to get cracking, wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Summer Star sampler quilt- progress

Leave a Reply

