Baby · Books · Kids

Favorite kids’ books

You know me, I love to read. I think (I hope!) that I’m passing that on to my son. I often check on him because of I’m suspicious of silence when he’s in the living room by himself, and I find that instead of destroying things, he’s sitting on the floor “reading”.

He’ll bring us book after book to read. Sometimes after I read the book, he takes it right to Tim to read.

There are worse habits to have.

books4
via

Reading to your kids can produce a number of benefits, and reading the same book over and over is also great for them. It helps to build vocabulary, understand patterns in language, and comprehension. Don’t we all want that for our kids?

I know Noah is only 2, but we have a lot of books. I thought I would recommend/share some of our favorites. These are most likely the ones I have memorized. If you’re looking to build a kids’ book library, these are all some great options.

Bedtime books

Bear Snores On by Karma Wilson
Babycakes by Karma Wilson
The Going to Bed Book by Sandra Boynton
Big Red Barn by Margaret Wise Brown
Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown
Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker
Llama Llama Red Pajama by Anna Dewdney
Love You Forever by Robert Munsch

Other books

The Circus Ship by Chris Van Dusen
Books by Leslie Patricelli, particularly Potty and Toot
Paddington
(all of them) by Michael Bond
Nursery rhyme books
Dr. Seuss books (specifically Go, Dog. Go! and Green Eggs and Ham)
Laura Numeroff’s If You Give A…(Mouse a Cookie, Moose a Muffin, etc) books
Baby Lit books (he loves Goodnight Mr. Darcy)
Poetry books
Books that contain songs (The Wheels on the Bus, The Ants Go Marching, etc)

This is obviously not an exhaustive list of all our books, but these are the favorites. I hope you found a new book to try!

2 thoughts on “Favorite kids’ books

Leave a comment