DIY · Kids

Christmas craft night

This past Sunday evening I had a Christmas party at my house. It was actually pretty low-effort, which is perfect because I’m fairly low-energy. Thanks, baby.

I asked everyone to bring some Christmas cookies, and we all got a variety to take home. Then I made a pot of my potato soup (it’s seriously the best ever) and heated water for hot chocolate. All that was left was sweeping the floor and unearthing the table. Actually pretty easy!

For the craft, I got cheap canvases from a local “dollar store”, along with some water colors and glitter paint. Then I raided my stash of craft supplies and asked my friends to bring any they had. I put a plastic tablecloth on the table, which made for super easy clean-up. And it kept most of the glitter contained.

We did some Pinteresting and got to work. Here are the final results!

24312659_1855216421174861_1945759127884608159_n

Sorry for the terrible picture quality, the light in my kitchen is so bad. When I’m done writing this, I’m going to put a white light bulb in (instead of the yellow that’s currently in there) and see if it makes a difference. Because seriously, I can barely see to cook.

Here is a close-up of mine. While it doesn’t look as great as it did in my head, some added snowflakes or ornaments across the top would make it better. I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

P1190603

So if you’re looking for a fun and festive Christmas get-together idea, I would totally recommend this kind of party. Fun, easy, and plenty of time for great conversation.

One thought on “Christmas craft night

Leave a comment