Books

June books

6a096598f9079aa4670118d5a1629695
via

I must say, I had an amazing reading month. I read three books, and they were all excellent. Ok, I quit one book too, but that doesn’t count. That cartoon up there is how I read with kids in the house.

The Masterpiece by Fiona Davis. Did you know that in the 1920’s there was an art school on the top floor of Grand Central Station in New York City? This is the story of two women, Clara and Virginia, and the story jumps back and forth in time. Clara was a teacher at the art school and an illustrator for Vogue; Virginia was a newly divorced woman who suddenly found herself in need of a job. Both women fight to be heard- Clara to be acknowledged as an artist and Virginia to save the once-opulent Grand Central from being replaced. This book had mystery and emotion, and I love a good book with parallel storylines.

We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter. This book is an epic tale of survival and family bonds, confidence in the face of evil, and remaining true to your beliefs. Though written as a novel, it is the true story of how the author’s relatives survived the Holocaust in Poland. The Jewish Kruc family were wealthy and well-educated, but the invasion of the Nazis, and later the Soviets, took away the life they had always known. The siblings and their parents showed amazing strength as they fought to survive. I know, I know, another WWII novel. But seriously, this one is amazing, for sure a 5 star book.

Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise by Ruth Reichl. What a fun (and delicious) book! This is the memoir of the years when she was the New York Times restaurant critic. In an attempt to get the real feel of a restaurant, she would go out to eat in disguise. This is a book that will make you hungry, and luckily, she included lots of recipes.

I quit the book The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin. It was soooo slow and by the time I reached page 100, I hadn’t found any characters I liked. Cora was spoiled and annoying, her mother was a jerk, her father absent, the maid was sneaky. I felt like it was a modern attempt at Jane Austen, but poorly done and cheesy. I think when I picked it up at the library, I thought it was An American Princess, but soon realized my mistake. The summer is too short to read long books that I am not enjoying.

Noah and I finished reading Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne. It was delightful and he loved it. Reading it always reminds me of the audio version we would listen to in the car, and I could hear the narrator’s voice in my head as I read. I was surprised at how many phrases from Winnie the Pooh made it into our family language. I found myself wishing I could call my mom and complain that “my sponge has turned into a spudge.” Yet again, I am so thankful to my mother for surrounding us with fantastic books as we were growing up.

Leave a comment