OMG! · Working on now

Summer Sampler blocks

Guess what! I did a thing!

P1190547

That’s right, that is the final Summer Sampler block, the orange-yellow Saddle Star. For a 6″ block that was traditionally pieced, this one about broke my brain. I kept sewing things on backwards or upside down. I had to do the center part 3 times before I got it right, mostly because I couldn’t comprehend simple instructions. My seam ripper and I were really close yesterday.

I probably shouldn’t be doing complicated things while pregnant.

So anyway, the blocks are done! There are 17 total. I apologize for the terrible lighting in the pictures. I always think “I’ll take pictures in the morning with the light!” But every time I fail to remember that we only have weird white light in the morning. So anyway, here are the four 6″ blocks.

P1190542

And here are the thirteen 12″ blocks.

P1190545

P1190544

This is how I originally planned to put them together. There will be some sort of borders between the blocks, and some flying geese or similar in the empty spaces around the small blocks.

P1190551

But then I came up with a different layout… because I’m indecisive. And oh my gosh, I love this too!

P1190555

So, help me out, which one do you like best?

5 thoughts on “Summer Sampler blocks

Leave a comment